Sem 2 and what not

So if you didn’t know yet (although I wouldn’t blame you as I never really publicly announced my enrollment bc I didn’t want to come across as arrogant bc I’m only doing this programme bc of the JPA bursary wow that’s a lot of bc) , I’m currently feeling my way through Sem 2 of the IBDP at TCSH.

There, I said it. Lol.

Why I said ‘feeling my way’ is bc I’ve come up with sort of a metaphor on how progressing into Sem 2 is. Sem 1 is like walking into a brightly-lit room for the first time. Everything you see is new and fresh and exciting and it’s easy to move around (brightly-lit) bc there’re teachers and seniors to show you the way. And there’s nothing hidden, everything’s clear and direct, from lessons to new friendships.

And then Sem 2 starts and it’s like someone just flicked the light switch off. Suddenly, it’s pitch black as acronyms and terms (IAs,EEs, datelines, research question,manage your time) increasingly make their way into your hearing range. But even as you hear more of them, you still have no idea what to do with/about them and at this time, your eyes haven’t adjusted to the lack of light in the room so you’re taking baby steps with your hands outstretched.

As time passes and these acronyms and terms become almost like a dark cloud/voice that looms over your head at all times and will only disappear if you complete them, which if you’re efficient will be at the end of this year, everything that you do that does not contribute to the progress of these tasks will land you in guilt. And at this point you sort of have an idea of what you have to do to get the job done and your eyes have adjusted to the darkness so now you’re not so much in the dark anymore (aye) but none of it is clear yet.

And that’s all I have bc that’s my current situation. What a metaphor huh

Tbh this post was supposed to be about memories I can/want to rmb from high school that ended more than a year ago, if I can even rmb any. And then after I’m done with that, more posts on memories I want to rmb from college. “Whaaaaat it’s only Sem 2” you might say but that was me in Sem 1 and look how fast we got to Sem 2. With all the work rushing in like tidal waves, I bet it’ll be graduation before we even have the time to think about spending enough time tgt before parting ways.

Tho will it ever be enough

Looks like I’ll do the memories thing next time.

6 thoughts on “Sem 2 and what not”

  1. I totally get what you mean! I’m in my final (4th) semester of A Levels and I only just started trying to write down all the memories I want to remember. And speaking of feeling guilt when we don’t do things that contribute to our final goals, I totally feel you! There was a point when I felt bad for doing anything other than studying in my first semester but that sort of waned and now I just don’t feel like doing work anymore. I just need to find a way to motivate myself and start working harder.

    Like

    1. Haha your post is actually what got me thinking of wanting to write down all those memories πŸ™‚ I went through that phase of being guilty of doing anything other than studying too but what I do is sleep so that I don’t feel as bad bc rest is good for the body blah blah blah. And isn’t A2 motivation enough?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Totes agree! (About sleeping) I’d like to say that ‘maybe you’re alrd well prepared’ but I hate it when ppl assume that all scholars are either superbly smart and don’t need to study or are very hardworking and alrd finished revising. Anyway, good luck in getting shit done and acing your upcoming exams!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

